Khanty-Mansiysk hosted one more chess tournament – “Ugra Cup”, which is a stage of Rapid Grand Prix Russia 2012. 

The tournament took its place on 26 and 27 November at the open stadium “Ugra-Athletics”. There were 87 chess players taking part in the tournament which was organized in accordance with the Swiss system in 11 rounds. There were players from Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova and Azerbaijan. Russia was represented by the athletes from Moscow, St. Petersburg, Yekaterinburg, Ufa, Kazan, Tumen, Novosibirsk, Krasnoyarsk, Samara, Leningran region, Yamal and Ugra. The honour of Ugra was defended by 40 chess players. The total prize money accounted for 500  000 roubles.

After two days of struggle the cup went to Sergey Udin from Novosibisk, who managed to get 8,5 points. 0,5 points behind him were Sergey Zhigalko (Belarus) and Rauf Mamedov (Azerbaijan); some additional characteristics made the Belarusian player the second.

Among women the best result was shown by Ekaterina Ubiennikh from Krasnoyarsk, the second was Anna Burtasova of Moscow, the third – Marina Grigoryan (Krasnoyarsk). The best among boys of the 1998 year of birth and younger became Vladislav Lipatov, his fellow-countryman Ilya Kitayev won the silver medal and the third was Vadim Taishin of Ugra. Among boys of the 1998 year of birth and younger Andrey Stukopin was the best player, the second place went to Sergey Savitsky (Yamal), the third one is Dmitry Gordievsky (Moscow).  In nomination “girls of the 1998 year of birth and younger” the gold medal went to Viktoriya Niyazova of Ugra. Among girls of the 1994 year of birth and younger the winner is Anastasiya Sazonova of Tumen, the silver and bronze medal went to the chess players of Khanty-Mansiysk – Tatyana Bezgodova and Natalia Sorokina. Among veterans the best result was shown by Vladimir Ivanets (Surgut), the second place went to Vitaliy Solovyev (Tumen), the third – Uriy Grishin (Surgut). Among women veterans the best was Faina Volkova (Nizhnevartovsk), the second became Valentina Chemakina (Khanty-Mansiysk), the bronze went to Tatyana Razuvayeva (Nefteyugansk region).