More than 100 chess players from 5 countries were fighting for the VIII Chess Cup of the Governor of Khanty-Mansiysk autonomous okrug – Ugra (stage of the Russia Chess Cup) from 15 to 23 November. 

The results of the ten-day fight were announced at the closing ceremony in the Khanty-Mansiysk open stadium “Ugra-Athletics.” The Mayor Vasily Filipenko awarded the veterans Almira Mishchenko (Coglim) and Vladimir Ivantsov (Surgut). Then the President of the Ugra Chess Federation awarded the winners of the tournament “B” Azat Sharafiev from Kazan (7.5 points), Sergei Pozin from Raduzhniy (7 points) and Mikhail Pogromskiy of the Sverdlovsk region (7 points).

The main part of the awarding ceremony was held by Ugra’s Governor Natalia Komarova. The head of the region gave presents to bronze and silver winners Evgeniy Romanov (St. Petersburg) and Artyom Timofeev (Kazan), and the tournament symbol went to Ildar Khairullin (St. Petersburg), who’s got 7 points. After that, in accordance with the tradition, Natalia Komarova welcomed the youngest participant of the tournament 8-years-old Bulat Baisov and the most experienced one – 64-years-old Boris Morozov.

The world champion among students Evgenia Ovod, ex-champion of Kazakhstan and the winner of the zonal tournament in 2011 Madina Davletbaeva, UFD champion among women Aisilu Pridorozhnaya presented the special awards in individual categories to the prize-winners of the tournament. The “bronze” among the girls under 18 went to Natalia Sorokina of Khanty-Mansiysk, Natalia Pavlova from Yamal became second, and the best result was shown by Anastasia Sazonova from Tyumen. Among boys under 18 third place was taken by Dmitry Afanasyev (Samara region), “silver” went to the resident of Kogalim Sergey Gordeev, Oleg Papayan of Raduzhniy became the winner. Madina Davletbaeva (Kazakhstan) managed to show the best result among women, second place – Ekaterina Averchenko (Tomsk), and the third one – Elena Semenova (Yamal).

At the end of the ceremony the winner of the VIII Ugra Governor’s Cup Ildar Khairullin solemnly lowered the flag of the Russian Federation to close the competition.